Spring Valley Village Board Annual Meeting

April 13, 2018

President Brunkhorst called the meeting called to order at 8:00 a.m. in the Council Chambers located in the Village Hall. <u>Members Present</u>: Trustee: President Marsha Brunkhorst, Mary Ducklow, Matt Huepfel, Dale Jacobson, Rich O'Connell, Andy Vorlicek

Members absent: Nick Falde

Staff Present: Clerk/Treasurer Luann Emerson

Approval of Agenda: Motion (Jacobson/O'Connell) to approve agenda as presented. Carried

- 1. Oaths of Office and Conflict of Interest forms were signed.
- 2. Motion (O'Connell/Huepfel) to approve as presented members appointed to the board committees, Library rep, President pro tem, Zoning Admin, Weed Com, Forester, BOR, BOA, Police Committee, CDA, Plan Commission. Carried.
- 3. Brunkhorst will remain Fire/Ambulance rep.
- 4. Motion (Huepfel/Jacobson) to designate Rory O'Sullivan as Village Attorney. Carried.
- 5. Motion (O'Connell/Jacobson) to designate the First Bank of Baldwin and WESTconsin Credit Union as the Village's public depositories. Carried
- 6. Official Village Newspaper designation tabled until May board meeting.
- 7. Open book Monday May 14th 2018 4:00 6:00 p.m. Board of Review Monday May 21st 6:00-8:00 p.m.
- 8. The board OKed Emerson accepting Town of Gilman Treasurer position.
- 9. Howe will get new figures for downtown sidewalk replacement.
- 10. Community Center request to be listed in the State and National Registers of Historic Places was denied by the State of WI Historical Society. Planning will continue for an upgrade to the facility.
- 11. Brunkhorst will not be voting on SVHRC items that come before the village board. Huepfel and Ducklow have no conflict of interest in this matter.

Closing comments: Emerson advised the board that villages are not required to have annual meetings. The ordinance would need to be changed, the board has a year to decide.

Motion (O'Connell/Huepfel) to adjourn. Carried

2018-2019 Committees

Public Works: Vorlicek, Huepfel, Jacobson Finance: Ducklow, Jacobson, Brunkhorst Personnel: Jacobson, Vorlicek, Ducklow Emergency Svcs: Huepfel, Falde, Vorlicek Municipal Development: O'Connell, Falde, Brunkhorst Ordinance: Falde, Ducklow, O'Connell Police Commission: Tanberg, Ducklow, (Lukes) Board of Review: Brunkhorst, Emerson, Ducklow, Jacobson, Huepfel, Alternate O'Connell Board of Appeals: Hannack, Prudlow, Streater, Powell, (open) Plan Commission: Klug, Spilde, Bille, Erickson, Jacobson, Huepfel, O'Connell CDA: Esanbock, Leach, McMurrin, Brunkhorst, Jacobson Ambulance Rep: Brunkhorst Fire Association Rep: Brunkhorst Library Rep: O'Connell President Pro-Tem: Ducklow Zoning Administrator: Emerson Weed Commissioner: Huepfel Forester: Arneson

Respectfully submitted Luann Emerson, Clerk